21 female cops get Bangladesh Police Women Award’17

In recognition of their services, 21 female police officials have been awarded the Bangladesh Police Women Award-2017.

The Police Headquarters presented the award at a programme at Police Staff College in Dhaka’s Mirpur this evening.

Bangladesh Police issued a release in this regard earlier today.

Home Minister Asaduzzaman Khan Kamal was present at the event as the chief guest. State Minister for Women and Children Affairs Meher Afroz Chumki and State Minister for Post and Telecommunications Tarana Halim were also present at the event as special guests.

Inspector General of Police (IGP) AKM Shahidul Hoque presided over the event.

The awards were presented to the awardees in seven categories: Entrepreneur Women Organization of the Year, Lifetime Achievement Award, Bangladesh Police Women Leadership Award, Medal of Courage, Excellence in Service, Community Service, and Peacekeeping Mission. 

The awardees were: Fatema Begum, additional inspector general (AIG) at Police Headquarters; Shehela Parvin, superintendent of police (administration); Rownak Jahan, additional superintendent (ASP) of police in Jamalpur, Ripa Rani Das, ASP in Sirajganj; Nadia Jui, assistant commissioner of Dhaka Metropolitan Police (DMP) in Khilgaon Zone; Shamim Ara Begum, senior assistant director of Rapid Action Battalion (Rab) Hearquarters; Poly Akter, trainee sergeant of Tejgaon Industrial Area Traffic Zone; Alia Kha, constable of Detective Branch in Bagerhat; Mosammat Lata Parvin, constable of Chittagong Metropolitan Police (CMP); Tasmiah Tahlil, ASP; Rawshan Sadia Afroz, deputy director of Dhaka Police Staff College; Nishat Rahman Mithun, senior assistant commissioner of Dhaka Metropolitan (North) Detective Branch; Shamsur Nahar Khanam, assistant superintendent of police of Special Branch; Tanjina Akter,  assistant superintendent of police of Armed Police Battalion (APBN); Sonia Parvin, assistant superintendent of police of Women Support Centre; Yasmin Ara Begum, sub-inspector (SI) of CMP Victim Support Centre; Jannatul Ferdous, SI in Barguna; Sultana Khanam, AIG (administration); Mahfuza Akter, ASP (training and sports); Asma Begum Rita, ASP (Expatriates Support Cell); and Marjina Khatun, SI of Special Branch.

source: Daily star