Bangladesh beat Hong Kong by 8 wickets

Bangladesh defeated Hong Kong by 8 wickets during their first match of the Emerging Teams Asia Cup 2017 tournament at Sheikh Kamal International Cricket Stadium, Cox's Bazar today.

Hong Kong elected to bat first after they won the toss. They were rocked early by Abul Hasan Raju as he sent back Anshuman Rath for 7. Chris Carter was run out on 15. Hong Kong fought back with their third wicket stand of 49 between Nizakat Khan and Babar Hayat before Rahatul Ferdous Javed dismissed Nizakat for 27.

Nasir Hossain made his mark in the match when he took the wicket of Waqas Khan. Soon Mominul Haque sent back Hong Kong’s top-scorer Babar Hayat for 37 to leave the tourists struggling at Cox's Bazar. Nasir struck again to dismiss Shahid Wasif for 2.

Mominul gave Bangladesh two breakthroughs in the 31st over as Waqas Barkat and Jhatha Subraymanyan were sent back to the pavilion. In the next over, Nasir got his third wicket of the match when Ehsan Nawaz was dismissed without scoring any run. Ehsan Khan was the last man to be dismissed by Javed on 17 and Hong Kong were bowled out for 125.

Mominul was the most successful bowler for Bangladesh with 3 for 11. Nasir Hossain picked up 3 wickets for 18 runs.

In reply Bangladesh enjoyed a good start as Saif Hassan and Azmir Ahmed partnership produced 46 runs in the 1st wicket. Waqas Khan dismissed Azmir for 15. Skipper Mominul Haque scored a quick-fire 21 from 14 before being dismissed by Ehsan Khan.

The unbeaten 3rd wicket stand of 41 between Saif and Nazmul Hossain Shanto ensured Bangladesh reached their target without any more hiccups along the way. Saif’s unbeaten knock of 57 and Nazmul’s 24 ensured their team romped to victory by eight wickets in the lop-sided match.

Bangladesh’s next match is on 28 March against Nepal at the Sheikh Kamal International Cricket Stadium Academy Ground, Cox's Bazar.


Hong Kong: 125 all out in 35.1 overs (Babar Hayat 37, Nizakat 27, Mominul 3-11)

Bangladesh: 126 for 2 in 16.1 overs (Saif 57*, Nazmul 24*, Waqas 1-10)

Result: Bangladesh won by 8 wickets

source: Daily star