Awami League, BNP propose names for next Election Commission

The ruling Awami League and the BNP have recommended names of five people each they want as members of the next Election Commission.

Awami League Office secretary Abdus Sobhan Golap and BNP Senior Joint Secretary General Ruhul Kabir Rizvi submitted the names separately to the Cabinet Division on Tuesday afternoon.

The Cabinet Division is carrying out secretarial responsibility of the search committee. 

Both parties declined to disclose the recommended names.

Golap said the list was finalised at a joint meeting of the party's advisers and executive body on Monday.

“The time isn't right to reveal their identities,” he said, when reporters asked him for the names.

Rizvi said he did not know who had been recommended. 

“The high commands gave me an enveloped [containing the names] and I submitted it to the Cabinet Division,” he said.

Golap said they considered the candidates' background, credibility, transparency and belief in the spirit of the Liberation War when selecting them.

Rizvi said the names were recommended following the 13-point preamble given to President Abdul Hamid regarding the upcoming parliament election.

President Hamid formed the search committee last week as Kazi Rakibuddin Ahmad-led incumbent EC's tenure will end in February.

The committee will suggest names of the chief election commissioner and other commissioners.

A source said 16 political parties have submitted names of their preferred candidates to the committee between yesterday and Tuesday noon.

source: Dhakatribune