Warrants issued for arrest of 8 Narsingdi cops

A court here on Tuesday issued warrants for the arrest of eight policemen on charge of assaulting a judicial magistrate on the district court premises on June 10.

Chief Judicial Magistrate Netai Chandra Saha issued the arrest warrants following a report submitted to the court on Tuesday by senior judicial magistrate Sihabul Islam,

The accused are inspector Mamunur Rashid Mondol, Nayek Md A Salam, constables Kalimuddin, Mokhlesur Rahman, Mahbubur Rahman, Shahidul Islam, Saiful Islam and Sanjay Kumer.

He directed the Narsingdi Police Super to submit a compliance report on the arrest warrants by June 27.

Magistrate Iman Ali Sheikh was assaulted by some policemen at the main entrance of the court on June 10.

Rakibul Hasan, head clerk of the district and sessions judge court, filed a case with the chief judicial magistrate court against 7-8 policemen in this connection the following day.

After the incident, local police administration formed a four-member probe body, headed by additional superintendent of police Md Mokhlesur Rahman, to look into the matter. They were given five days’ time to submit the report.

The government has also formed a one-man committee with Abu Saleh Sheikh M Zohirul Haq, Joint Secretary (admin) of Law and Justice Division of the Law Ministry, to investigate the incident.

Three police personnel were suspended on June 11 in this connection as they were found guilty of the offence in a preliminary investigation.

News Source: